Skip to content

Ode to Margaret and David

INT. BEDROOM IN PERTH BEACHSIDE DWELLING – NIGHT

CHRISTINA is cuddled up in bed under a feather doona reading.

Wind is rustling trees outside. The surf roars in the distance.

THORSTEN switches off the ensuite’s lights and enters the bedroom rubbing his wet hair with a towel.

THORSTEN
You’re sleeping already?

CHRISTINA drops her book and rolls her eyes.

CHRISTINA
Nope. I was reading. Just a minute ago.

THORSTEN (still towelling his hair)
Hum.

CHRISTINA
So?

THORSTEN
I read your blog today and really liked it.

CHRISTINA
Thank you. You’re probably my most loyal reader.

CHRISTINA picks up her book and continues to read.

THORSTEN
You really like Margaret and David, don’t you?

CHRISTINA (drops book again)
Who? What do you mean?

THORSTEN
Margaret and David. The bickering couple on ABC who always chat about movies?

CHRISTINA (frowns)
Bickering? That’s not bickering that’s what you call an intelligent conversation! You know I love their show. I just don’t get the connection between my blog and movie reviews? Do you think I should write about movies? I mean, I could do that, but then I’d kind of double-up with what they do and they’re so awesome nobody can do it better. I mean, they’re icons of the Australian TV landscape and have been for 25 years. Twenty five!

THORSTEN (is climbing into bed rearranging pillows)
Yes, maybe. I don’t know. It’s just when I read the story about you, your dad and the zig zag train it reminded me of them.

CHRISTINA (frowns even more)
How come?

THORSTEN
Your dialogue.

CHRISTINA (sits up in bed waiting for THORSTEN to continue)
Yes?

THORSTEN
It reads like one of Margaret and David’s banter.

CHRISTINA (outraged)
No! Oh, Thorsten. How can you even say that? I completely disagree with you on this. I think I found my own voice and style in my blog. Sure, I love Margaret and David and their opinions does influence our movie choices. Particularly when it comes to Australian movies. I don’t think we would have watched Wish you Where Here if it hadn’t been for their review. Even if it does influence me, surely my style is totally unique and different.

THORSTEN (raises eyebrows and opens his book to read).

CHRISTINA lays back down again pulling her doona over her.

CHRISTINA
So what did you think of the blog post?

THORSTEN (smiles)
I give it three and a half stars. You?

CHRISTINA
Well, I’m biased, but I think three sounds fair.

*At the Movies runs every Wednesday at 10pm on ABC1 and is repeated Saturday at 8pm on ABC2.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I rather like your style and subject matter!

    13/06/2012

Leave a Reply

